"Belp Help" - the heart project of Vova&Yulia

The war in Ukraine - it also hits people in Switzerland deep in the heart. This is also the case for Vova Kasilov, Yulia Dreier's dance and life partner with a Ukrainian passport, who has lived in Belp near Bern for six years. Dance sport defines their lives. In 2017 and 2021, they were Swiss Standard Champions together. In the Zurich club DUZ, they are among the driving forces, are involved in the board of directors and are part of the active coaching staff, which also looks after the young talent in particular. This purpose in life has completely faded into the background in the weeks after 24 February. Since Vladimir Putin attacked Ukraine with his Russian soldiers, tanks and aircraft, the world order has been thrown out of joint, fear and terror reign, uncertainty dominates.

So Vova fears for the lives of his parents, brother with his family and aunt. They live in Kharkiv, which is one of the first targets of Putin's attacks. "Vova completely folded it up," Yulia recalls, "the powerlessness broke him." Developments in the war zone do not bode well. The first Western relief operations and the Red Cross only reach the west, the east with the major cities of Mariupol and Kharkiv is cut off.

"During this time, a chat developed among dancers, in which Motsi Mabuse and Kristina Moshenka also actively participated - it quickly became clear to all of us that we wanted to actively help," Yulia explains. The aid project that later became known as "Belp Help" was born in Belp. The first goal is to collect as many relief supplies as possible in Switzerland and prepare them for transport to Poland. Many dancers show their solidarity. From Zurich to Valais, blankets, clothes, nappies, sugar, pasta, rice and vacuum-packed food are delivered to Belp. Two lorries that would have gone back to Poland empty can be loaded with 50 pallets of aid from Belp. Thanks to his language and negotiating skills with Polish and Ukrainian authorities, Vova also manages to organise a Ukrainian passenger train from Katowice to Kharkiv, to which freight wagons can be attached for the first time. "We know that our relief supplies have arrived in Kharkiv," Yulia sums up today, not without pride. All the effort put in by many people in Switzerland has paid off.

When this train arrives in Kharkiv, Vova's relatives have already managed to escape. "Belp Help" starts the second project. The house next door to Yulia's parents in Belp has been empty for three years, completely unused. "My father convinced the owner that we should make it available for refugee families," Yulia reports. "Within four days we cleared out the house, cleaned it completely, painted it fresh and refurnished it with collected furniture." It is an emotional moment when Vova is allowed to embrace his family again a few weeks ago and give them a new sense of security. The first few days show that the war experiences - all the threatening images and sounds - have imprinted themselves in the minds of his relatives. "Vova's niece is traumatised, she won't leave her mother's side," Yulia says. Nevertheless, they are now trying to give the children in particular a normal everyday life as quickly as possible, to integrate them in the playgroup and at school. In the meantime, Vova, Yulia and their parents have set up a relief goods store for refugees in Bern in the garage, which is open for two hours a day. Vova's parents and brother run this warehouse, accept aid material from Swiss people, meet other Ukrainians who have fled and are allowed to help themselves. So they too have a meaningful task again for the first few weeks.

"I sleep maybe four to five hours at the moment," Yulia explains of her efforts. But now some normality should return for her and Vova. They have resumed training in Zurich, and at Easter they took part in a WDSF tournament in Chiasso for the first time again. The result still played a subordinate role for Vova&Yulia.   

Support for "Belp Help" - how can I help?

"Belp Help" continues to accept relief goods for Ukrainian families, which are given to refugees free of charge in the garage. In particular, hygiene products, food, kitchen utensils, spring and summer clothes (sizes to be agreed), gym and summer shoes in good condition are in demand.

Before delivery, please contact us by phone or whatsapp - 078 705 33 09 (Yulia).  Thank you very much.

Related Post

Dress code 2022

The dress code applies to all WDSF tournaments and also applies to the tournament regulations of the WDSF member states.

Read more "
en_GB

Follow us on social networks

Dance, party and have fun -
the first STSV Dance Night on Saturday,
17 September in Ittigen

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

«Belp Help» – das Herzensprojekt von Vova&Yulia

Der Krieg in der Ukraine – er trifft auch Menschen in der Schweiz tief im Herzen. So auch Vova Kasilov, Tanz- und Lebenspartner von Yulia Dreier mit ukrainischem Pass, der seit sechs Jahren in Belp bei Bern lebt. Tanzsport bestimmt ihr Leben. 2017 und 2021 wurden sie gemeinsam Schweizer Standard-Meister. Im Zürcher Verein DUZ gehören sie zu den treibenden Kräften, engagieren sich im Vorstand und gehören zum aktiven Trainerstab, der sich insbesondere auch um den Nachwuchs kümmert. Dieser Lebensinhalt ist in den Wochen nach dem 24. Februar komplett in den Hintergrund gerückt. Seit Vladimir Putin mit seinen russischen Soldaten, Panzern und Flugzeigen die Ukraine angreift, ist die Weltordnung aus den Fugen geraten, herrscht Angst und Schrecken, dominiert die Unsicherheit.

So fürchtet Vova um das Leben seiner Eltern, des Bruders mit seiner Familie und der Tante. Sie leben in Charkiw, das zu den ersten Zielen von Putins Angriffen zählt. «Vova hat das komplett zusammengelegt», erinnert sich Yulia, «die Machtlosigkeit hat ihn kaputtgemacht.» Die Entwicklung im Kriegsgebiet lässt nichts Gutes erahnen. Die ersten westlichen Hilfsaktionen und das Rote Kreuz erreichen nur den Westen, der Osten mit den Grossstädten Mariupol und Charkiw ist abgeschnitten.

«In dieser Zeit entstand unter Tänzerinnen und Tänzern ein Chat, bei dem auch Motsi Mabuse und Kristina Moshenka aktiv mitmachten – schnell wurde uns allen klar, dass wir aktiv helfen wollen», erzählt Yulia. In Belp entsteht das Hilfsprojekt, das später als «Belp Help» schnell zum Begriff wird. Erstes Ziel ist es, in der Schweiz möglichst viele Hilfsgüter zu sammeln und für einen Transport nach Polen vorzubereiten. Viele Tänzerinnen und Tänzer zeigen sich solidarisch. Von Zürich bis ins Wallis werden Decken, Kleidern, Windeln, Zucker, Pasta, Reis und vakumiiertes Essen nach Belp angeliefert. Zwei Lastwagen, die leer nach Polen zurückgefahren wären, können mit 50 Paletten Hilfsgütern aus Belp vollbeladen werden. Vova schafft es dank seinen Sprach- und Verhandlungskompetenzen mit polnischen und ukrainischen Ämtern zudem, einen ukrainischen Personenzug von Katowice nach Charkiw zu organisieren, dem erstmals auch Güterwagen angehängt werden können. «Wir wissen, dass unsere Hilfsgüter in Charkiw angekommen sind», bilanziert Yulia heute nicht ohne Stolz. Der ganze Aufwand vieler Menschen in der Schweiz hat sich gelohnt.

Als dieser Zug in Charkiw ankommt, ist den Verwandten von Vova die Flucht bereits geglückt. «Belp Help» startet das zweite Projekt. Das Nachbarhaus von Yulias Eltern in Belp steht seit drei Jahren leer, ist gänzlich unbenutzt. «Mein Vater überzeugte den Besitzer, dass wir es für Flüchtlingsfamilien bereitstellen», berichtet Yulia. «Innert vier Tagen haben wir das Haus ausgeräumt, komplett gereinigt, frisch gestrichen und mit gesammelten Möbeln wieder eingerichtet.» Es ist ein emotionaler Moment, als Vova seine Familie vor ein paar Wochen wieder in den Arm schliessen und ihnen eine neue Sicherheit geben darf. Die ersten Tage zeigen, dass sich die Kriegserlebnisse – all die bedrohlichen Bilder und Töne – in die Köpfe seiner Verwandten eingeprägt haben. «Vovas Nichte ist traumatisiert, sie weicht nicht von der Seite ihrer Mutter», erzählt Yulia. Trotzdem werde jetzt versucht, gerade den Kindern möglichst schnell einen normalen Alltag zu geben, sie in der Spielgruppe und in der Schule zu integrieren. In der Garage haben Vova mit Yulia und deren Eltern mittlerweile ein Hilfsgüterlager für Flüchtlinge in Bern eingerichtet, der täglich zwei Stunden geöffnet ist. Vovas Eltern und Bruder betreiben dieses Lager, nehmen Hilfsmaterial von Schweizern entgegen, treffen andere geflüchtete Ukrainer, die sich bedienen dürfen. So haben auch sie für die ersten Wochen wieder eine sinnstiftende Aufgabe.

«Ich schlafe derzeit vielleicht vier bis fünf Stunden», erklärt Yulia von ihren Anstrengungen. Aber jetzt soll für sie und Vova wieder etwas Normalität zurückkehren. Die Trainings in Zürich haben sie wieder aufgenommen, an Ostern haben sie erstmals wieder an einem WDSF-Turnier in Chiasso teilgenommen. Das Resultat spielte für Vova&Yulia noch eine untergeordnete Rolle.   

Support für «Belp Help» – wie kann ich helfen?

«Belp Help» nimmt weiterhin Hilfsgüter für ukrainische Familien entgegen, die in der Garage kostenlos an Flüchtlinge abgegeben werden. Gefragt sind insbesondere Hygieneprodukte, Nahrungsmittel, Küchenutensilien, Frühlings- und Sommerkleider (Grösse nach Absprache), Turn- und Sommerschuhe in gutem Zustand.

Vor der Anlieferung bitte telefonisch oder per whatsapp Kontakt aufnehmen – 078 705 33 09 (Yulia).  Herzlichen Dank.

Related Post

SM Latein im Rahmen des Trafo-Cup Baden

Die Trafo-Halle in Baden wird am Sonntag, den 25. September, zum Schauplatz der Schweizer Latein-Meisterschaften 2022. Im Rahmen des traditionellen Trafo-Cups, der bereits um 10 Uhr mit Standard-Wettbewerben in

Weiterlesen »

Wibawa/Wibawa sagen tschüss

Die Geschwister Pitt-Alexander und Tiara-Sophia Wibawa vom TDC Frauenfeld geben ihren Rücktritt vom Turniertanzsport. Gut zwei Wochen vor den Schweizer Latein-Meisterschaften in Baden kommt diese Botschaft der Titelverteidiger etwas

Weiterlesen »
de_DE

Folgen Sie uns auf den Soziale Netzwerken

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue