European Championship Standard: Successful Swiss Couples

For the first time, both Swiss couples qualified directly - i.e. without a redance - for a second round at a European Championship. The Swiss champions Volodymyr Kasilov/Yulia Dreier narrowly missed the third round and finished in a very good 25th place. Davide Corrodi/Maja Kucharczyk placed just behind them in 29th place. The Lithuanian pair Evaldas Sodeika/Ieva Zukauskaite were able to defend their title in Bucharest.

After a two-year break due to the Corona, the European Standard Championships in Bucharest took place in one of the magnificent halls of the Romanian parliament building. The Swiss couples experienced a premiere, qualifying for a second round without a redance for the first time. Both couples were thus able to confirm their upward trend. Kasilov/Dreier achieved a very good 25th place, only a little further away were Corrodi/Kucharczyk in 29th place. The performance density at a European Championships is usually a bit higher than at a World Championships, since couples from "exotic" countries are missing in the preliminary round. The Swiss champions from DUZ only missed 3 marks for the round of 24.

Anyone who has been to the European Championships, World Championships or Grand Slams knows how to appreciate this performance. From the round of 24 onwards, you really only find very good couples on the floor. For both couples, it has now paid off to focus on international tournaments and international coaches for years. Both Swiss couples regularly get know-how in Italy and other big dance countries to train and compete in their competitive environment. This shapes and spurs them on - and brings success. This has also had an effect on the WDSF World Ranking; Corrodi/Kucharczyk are in 44th place after the European Championships, Kasilov/Dreier in 81st.

In this historic and festive setting in the Romanian metropolis, the Lithuanians Sodeika/Zukauskaite secured their second European title. In the final, however, they had to give up the Tango to the Italian couple Francesco Galuppo/Debora Pacini, who were already convincing in the preliminary round with dynamism, emotion and a lot of joy in dancing. The later winners danced very reservedly in comparison, especially Sodeika lacked the well-known positive charisma. Already in the round of 24, they only achieved second place in the points classification. In the semifinals they were rated very close to the Italians, and also in the final the difference was only 0.8 points.

In this historic and festive setting in the Romanian metropolis, the Lithuanians Sodeika/Zukauskaite secured their second European title. In the final, however, they had to give up the Tango to the Italian couple Francesco Galuppo/Debora Pacini, who already convinced in the preliminary round with dynamics, emotions and a lot of joy in dancing. The later winners danced very reservedly in comparison, especially Sodeika lacked the well-known positive charisma. Already in the round of 24, they only achieved second place in the points classification. In the semifinals they were rated very close to the Italians, and also in the final the difference was only 0.8 points. So far, the reigning Lithuanian world champions have always won by at least 6 points. This will be an exciting duel in the future. The Estonian couple Madis Abel/Aleksandra Galkina also attacked from the beginning and danced dynamically. What they conjured up on the floor in the Tango thrilled in every round. Abel/Galkina were rewarded for their performance with bronze for the first time at an international championship, which also allowed them to benefit from the absence of the Russian and Belarusian couples.

European Cup Latin
At the same time, the European Cup Latin took place in Bucharest. David Buechel/Flavia Landolfi from the TDSC competed for Switzerland. Unfortunately, the likeable couple narrowly missed qualifying for the 2nd round in the Redance. Our" Alessia Gigli, who lives and trains in Bremen and competes for the German DanceSport Federation, was luckier. With Daniel Dingis she danced very convincingly to 3rd place.

Text/Pictures: Reini Egli

Related Post

Corrodi/Kucharczyk lead WDSF ranking

Davide Corrodi/Maja Kucharczyk provided another explosion at their last international start of the year; at the WDSF Open in Zagreb they already achieved the following in the ten dance within a few weeks

Read more "

Words of the President

Dear STSV family, dear friends of dance sport After we had thought at the end of last year that we had overcome the worst, we were startled with new bad news at the end of February: War

Read more "

SM Ten Dance - Victory of the Favourites

Davide Corrodi/Maja Kucharczyk won their already fifth Swiss ten-dance championship title in Geneva-Vernier. This year's semi-finalists from the Tanzsportclub Zug won all ten dances and fully lived up to their role as favourites.

Read more "
en_GB
Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

EM Standard: Erfolgreiche Schweizer Paare

Erstmals haben sich beide Schweizer Paare an einer Europameisterschaft direkt – also ohne Redance – für eine zweite Runde qualifiziert. Die Schweizer Meister Volodymyr Kasilov/Yulia Dreier verpassten die dritte Runde knapp und erreichten den sehr guten 25. Platz. Davide Corrodi/Maja Kucharczyk platzierten sich knapp dahinter auf dem 29. Rang. Das litauische Paar Evaldas Sodeika/Ieva Zukauskaite konnten ihren Titel in Bukarest verteidigen.

Nach zweijähriger Corona-bedingter Pause fand die Europameisterschaft  Standard in Bukarest in einem der prachtvollen Säle des rumänischen Parlamentsgebäudes statt. Die Schweizer Paare erlebten eine Premiere, die sich erstmals ohne Redance für eine zweite Runde qualifzierten. Beide Paare konnten somit ihre Aufwärtstendenz bestätigen. Kasilov/Dreier erreichten den sehr guten 25. Platz, nur wenig entfernt klassierten sich Corrodi/Kucharczyk auf dem 29. Rang. Die Leistungsdichte an einer EM ist meistens noch ein bisschen höher als an einer WM, da Paare aus „exotischen“ Ländern in der Vorrunde fehlen. Den Schweizer Meistern vom DUZ fehlten lediglich 3 Marks für die 24er-Runde.

Wer schon öfter an EM, WM oder Grand Slams dabei war, weiss diese Leistung einzuschätzen. Ab der 24er-Runde findet man wirklich nur noch sehr gute Paare auf der Fläche. Für beide Paare zahlt sich mittlerweile aus, sich seit Jahren auf die internationale Turniere und internationale Trainer auszurichten. Beide Schweizer Paare holen sich regelmässig Knowhow in Italien und anderen grossen Tanzländern, um in deren kompetitiven Umfeld zu traineren und zu starten. Das prägt und spornt an – und bringt Erfolg. Auch im WDSF-Worldranking hat sich das mittlerweile ausgewirkt; Corrodi/Kucharczyk liegen nach der EM auf Rang 44, Kasilov/Dreier auf Rang 81.

In dieser historischen und festlichen Kulisse in der rumänischen Metropole sicherten sich die Litauer Sodeika/Zukauskaite ihren zweiten Europameister-Titel. Im Finale mussten sie allerdings den Tango an das italienische Paar Francesco Galuppo/Debora Pacini abgeben, die schon in der der Vorrunde mit Dynamik, Emotionen und viel Tanzfreude überzeugten. Die späteren Sieger tanzten im Vergleich dazu sehr zurückhaltend, insbesondere Sodeika fehlte die bekannte positive Ausstrahlung. Bereits in der 24er-Runde erreichten sie in der Punktewertung nur zweiten Rang. Im Semifinale wurden sie ganz knapp vor den Italienern gewertet, und auch im Finale betrug die Differenz lediglich 0.8 Punkte.

In dieser historischen und festlichen Kulisse in der rumänischen Metropole sicherten sich die Litauer Sodeika/Zukauskaite ihren zweiten Europameister-Titel. Im Finale mussten sie allerdings den Tango an das italienische Paar Francesco Galuppo/Debora Pacini abgeben, die schon in der der Vorrunde mit Dynamik, Emotionen und viel Tanzfreude überzeugten. Die späteren Sieger tanzten im Vergleich dazu sehr zurückhaltend, insbesondere Sodeika fehlte die bekannte positive Ausstrahlung. Bereits in der 24er-Runde erreichten sie in der Punktewertung nur zweiten Rang. Im Semifinale wurden sie ganz knapp vor den Italienern gewertet, und auch im Finale betrug die Differenz lediglich 0.8 Punkte. Bisher gewannen die amtierenden litauischen Weltmeister jeweils mit mindestens 6 Punkten Vorsprung. Für die Zukunft bahnt sich hier ein spannendes Duell an. Auch das estländische Paar Madis Abel/Aleksandra Galkina griff von Beginn an voll an und tanzte dynamisch. Was sie im Tango auf die Fläche zauberten, begeisterte in jeder Runde. Abel/Galkina wurden für ihre Leistung erstmals an einer internationalen Meisterschaft mit Bronze belohnt, womit sie auch von der Absenz der russischen und weissrussichen Paare profitieren konnten.

Europacup Latein
Gleichzeitig fand in Bukarest auch der Europacup Latein statt. Für die Schweiz waren David Buechel/Flavia Landolfi vom TDSC am Start. Leider verpasste das sympathische Paar im Redance ganz knapp die Qualifikation zur 2. Runde. Mehr Glück hatte „unsere“ Alessia Gigli, die in Bremen lebt und trainiert und für den Deutschen TanzSport Verband startet. Mit Daniel Dingis tanzte sie sehr überzeugend auf den 3. Rang.

Text/Bilder: Reini Egli

Related Post

STSV-Strategieweekend in Liestal

Wie sollen die strategischen Schwerpunkte des STSV im 2023 angepasst und ergänzt werden? Wo braucht es welche Massnahmen? Wie können die vielen Arbeiten auf verschiedene Schultern verteilt werden, will sich der STSV-Vorstand

Weiterlesen »
de_DE

Folgen Sie uns auf den Soziale Netzwerken

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue