WDSF cancels events in Russia and Belarus

The World Dance Sport Federation (WDSF) in its Communique of 27 February 2022 gives its full support to the recent communiqué of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) on the breach of the Olympic Truce.

WDSF cancels events in Russia and Belarus

In line with the recommendations of the International Olympic Committee, the World Dance Sport Federation has removed all dance events in Russia and Belarus from its agenda with immediate effect. In addition, the flags of these two countries will no longer be displayed and the national anthems will no longer be played. In his statement, WDSF President Shawn Tay expresses deep concern and sadness about the Russian invasion of Ukraine and wants to stand in solidarity with the people affected by this tragic conflict.

WDSF Statement of 27 February 2022

The World Dance Sport Federation (WDSF) announces in its Communique of 27 February 2022 its full support for the recent communiqué of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) on the breach of the Olympic Truce and the measures requested.

The IOC statement, published on 25 February, reads as follows:

“The Executive Board (EB) of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) reiterated today the IOC’s strong condemnation of the breach of the Olympic Truce by the Russian government and the government of Belarus through its support in this. The respective UN resolution was adopted by the UN General Assembly on 2 December 2021 by consensus of all 193 UN Member States. The Olympic Truce began seven days before the start of the Olympic Games, on 4 February 2022, and ends seven days after the closing of the Paralympic Games.

The IOC EB today urges all International Sports Federations to relocate or cancel their sports events currently planned in Russia or Belarus. They should take the breach of the Olympic Truce by the Russian and Belarussian governments into account and give the safety and security of the athletes absolute priority. The IOC itself has no events planned in Russia or Belarus.

In addition, the IOC EB urges that no Russian or Belarussian national flag be displayed and no Russian or Belarussian anthem be played in international sports events which are not already part of the respective World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) sanctions for Russia.

At the same time, the IOC EB expresses its full support to the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) for the upcoming Paralympic Winter Games Beijing 2022.

The IOC EB expresses its deep concerns about the safety of the members of the Olympic Community in Ukraine and stands in full solidarity. It notes that the special IOC task force is in contact with the Olympic Community in the country to coordinate humanitarian assistance where possible.

The IOC EB asks the task force to continue to closely monitor the situation and to keep the IOC EB informed and updated, also with regard to potential amendments of today’s resolution.”

On behalf of the WDSF, President Shawn Tay expressed his deep concern and sadness at the invasion of Ukraine. “To all Ukrainians and those with ties to Ukraine, our thoughts are with you. The WDSF stands in solidarity with all Ukrainians in this tragic conflict…The WDSF is committed to supporting the dance community in Ukraine in coping with these devastating times.”

In the meantime, no WDSF DanceSport Competitions will be taking place in Russia and Belarus until further notice.

Related Post

Corrodi/Kucharczyk lead WDSF ranking

Davide Corrodi/Maja Kucharczyk provided another explosion at their last international start of the year; at the WDSF Open in Zagreb they already achieved the following in the ten dance within a few weeks

Read more "

Words of the President

Dear STSV family, dear friends of dance sport After we had thought at the end of last year that we had overcome the worst, we were startled with new bad news at the end of February: War

Read more "
en_GB
Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

WDSF streicht Events in Russland und Belarus

Der Welttanzsportverband (WDSF) gibt in seinem Communique vom 27. Februar 2022 seine volle Unterstützung für das jüngste Kommuniqué des Internationalen Olympischen Komitees (IOC) über den Bruch des Olympischen Friedens.

WDSF streicht Events in Russland und Belarus

Der Welttanzsportverband hat in Einklang mit den Empfehlungen des Internationalen Olympischen Komitees per sofort sämtliche Tanzsportevents in Russland und Belarus von seiner Agenda gestrichen. Zudem werden die Flaggen dieser beiden Länder nicht mehr gezeigt, die Nationalhymnen nicht mehr abgespielt. WDSF-Präsident Shawn Tay drückt in seinem Statement die tiefe Besorgnis und Trauer über den russischen Einmarsch in der Ukraine aus und will den betroffenen Menschen in diesem tragischen Konflikt solidarisch zur Seite stehen.

WDSF-Statement vom 27. Februar 2022

Der Welttanzsportverband (WDSF) gibt in seinem Communique vom 27. Februar 2022 seine volle Unterstützung für das jüngste Kommuniqué des Internationalen Olympischen Komitees (IOC) über den Bruch des Olympischen Friedens und die geforderten Maßnahmen bekannt.

Die IOC-Erklärung, die am 25. Februar veröffentlicht wurde, lautet wie folgt:

“Der Exekutivrat (EB) des Internationalen Olympischen Komitees (IOC) hat heute erneut bekräftigt, dass das IOC den Bruch des Olympischen Friedens durch die russische Regierung und die Regierung von Weißrussland scharf verurteilt. Die entsprechende UN-Resolution wurde von der UN-Generalversammlung am 2. Dezember 2021 im Konsens aller 193 UN-Mitgliedstaaten angenommen. Der Olympische Friede begann sieben Tage vor Beginn der Olympischen Spiele, am 4. Februar 2022, und endet sieben Tage nach dem Ende der Paralympischen Spiele.

Der EB des IOC fordert heute alle internationalen Sportverbände auf, ihre derzeit in Russland oder Belarus geplanten Sportveranstaltungen zu verlegen oder abzusagen. Sie sollten dem Bruch des Olympischen Friedens durch die russische und weißrussische Regierung Rechnung tragen und der Sicherheit der Athleten absolute Priorität einräumen. Das IOC selbst hat keine Veranstaltungen in Russland oder Weißrussland geplant.

Darüber hinaus fordert das IOC EB, dass bei internationalen Sportveranstaltungen, die nicht bereits Teil der jeweiligen Sanktionen der Welt-Anti-Doping-Agentur (WADA) gegen Russland sind, keine russische oder weißrussische Nationalflagge gezeigt und keine russische oder weißrussische Hymne gespielt wird.

Gleichzeitig bringt der IOC-EB seine volle Unterstützung für das Internationale Paralympische Komitee (IPC) für die bevorstehenden Paralympischen Winterspiele Peking 2022 zum Ausdruck.

Der IOC-EB bringt seine tiefe Besorgnis über die Sicherheit der Mitglieder der olympischen Gemeinschaft in der Ukraine zum Ausdruck und ist in voller Solidarität. Er nimmt zur Kenntnis, dass die spezielle IOC-Taskforce in Kontakt mit der olympischen Gemeinschaft im Land steht, um die humanitäre Hilfe so weit wie möglich zu koordinieren.

Das IOC EB bittet die Task Force, die Situation weiterhin genau zu beobachten und das IOC EB auf dem Laufenden zu halten, auch im Hinblick auf mögliche Änderungen der heutigen Resolution.”

Im Namen des WDSF bringt Präsident Shawn Tay seine tiefe Besorgnis und Trauer über den Einmarsch in der Ukraine zum Ausdruck.  “Unsere Gedanken sind bei allen Ukrainern und allen, die mit der Ukraine verbunden sind. Das WDSF steht in Solidarität mit allen Ukrainern in diesem tragischen Konflikt…Das WDSF ist entschlossen, die Tanzgemeinschaft in der Ukraine bei der Bewältigung dieser verheerenden Zeit zu unterstützen.”

Bis auf weiteres finden in Russland und Weißrussland keine WDSF-Tanzsportwettbewerbe statt.

Related Post

Kleiderordnung 2022

Die Bekleidungsvorschriften kommen bei allen WDSF-Turnieren zur Anwendung und gelten auch für die Turnierordnungen der WDSF-Mitgliedsstaaten.

Weiterlesen »
de_DE

Folgen Sie uns auf den Soziale Netzwerken

Tanzen, feiern und Spass haben –
die erste STSV Dance Night vom Samstag,
den 17. September in Ittigen

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue