Statement STSV on the war in Ukraine

The outbreak of violence in the conflict between Russia and Ukraine has affected us all, as a wide variety of people from many different nations have been living together peacefully in our country for decades.

Dear Swiss STSV Family

Russia, Belarus and Ukraine in a state of war.

The outbreak of violence in the conflict between Russia and Ukraine has affected us all, as a wide variety of people from different nations have been living together peacefully in our country for decades. So it is also a normality for us to compete for places and ranking points on the dance floor with successful Ukrainians and with no less successful Russian athletes.

The Executive Board is all the more appalled by the outbreak of this brute aggression in this conflict that has been simmering for over 8 years. We strongly condemn this violence. Violence is never a valid means to resolve a conflict. With the invasion of Ukraine by the Russian army, the previously largely peaceful life of the population has changed abruptly. While their own soldiers in the neighbouring country are now trying to use bloody violence to decide a conflict in their favour, it seems impious to us if social life in Russia should simply go on as usual and we should also take part in it.  

Our umbrella organisation Swiss Olympic condemns the breach of the Olympic Truce by the Russian government. The Olympic Truce was adopted as a resolution by the UN General Assembly on 2 December 2021 by 173 member countries and is valid from 4 February to 20 March. As a result of the conflict, Swiss Olympic advises its member federations to refrain from participating in competitions in Russia and the war zones for security reasons.

The STSV follows this recommendation. Swiss dancers should stay away from tournaments in both countries until the hostilities have been resolved. The board has decided not to make any selections for corresponding competitions for the time being.

Our thoughts are with the Ukrainian people, with the soldiers of both sides of the conflict who have to put their lives and souls on the line for this senseless war, with the families of these soldiers and especially with our Ukrainian and Russian dance sport friends in Switzerland.

The Board of Directors

Related Post

Corrodi/Kucharczyk lead WDSF ranking

Davide Corrodi/Maja Kucharczyk provided another explosion at their last international start of the year; at the WDSF Open in Zagreb they already achieved the following in the ten dance within a few weeks

Read more "

Words of the President

Dear STSV family, dear friends of dance sport After we had thought at the end of last year that we had overcome the worst, we were startled with new bad news at the end of February: War

Read more "
en_GB
Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

Statement STSV zum Krieg in der Ukraine

Der Gewaltausbruch im Konflikt zwischen Russland und der Ukraine hat uns alle betroffen gemacht, da in unserem Land seit Jahrzehnten unterschiedlichste Menschen aus den unterschiedlichsten Nationen friedlich zusammenleben.

Liebe Schweizer STSV-Familie

Russland, Belarus und Ukraine im Kriegszustand.

Der Gewaltausbruch im Konflikt zwischen Russland und der Ukraine hat uns alle betroffen gemacht, da in unserem Land seit Jahrzehnten unterschiedlichste Menschen aus den unterschiedlichsten Nationen friedlich zusammenleben. So ist es für uns auch eine Normalität, mit erfolgreichen Ukrainerinnen und Ukrainern und mit nicht weniger erfolgreichen russischen Sportlerinnen und Sportlern auf dem Tanzparkett um Plätze und Ranglistenpunkte zu wetteifern.

Umso mehr ist der Vorstand entsetzt über den Ausbruch dieser brachialen Aggression in diesem seit über 8 Jahren schwelenden Konflikt. Wir verurteilen diese Gewalt auf das Schärfste. Gewalt ist nie ein gültiges Mittel um einen Konflikt zu lösen. Mit dem Einmarsch der russischen Armee in die Ukraine hat sich das bisher weitgehend friedliche Leben der Bevölkerung schlagartig verändert. Während nun die eigenen Soldaten im Nachbarland versuchen, mit blutiger Gewalt einen Konflikt zu ihren Gunsten zu entscheiden, scheint es uns pietätlos, wenn das gesellschaftliche Leben in Russland einfach weiter seinen gewohnten Lauf gehen sollte und wir auch noch daran teilhaben sollten.  

Unser Dachverband Swiss Olympic verurteilt den Bruch des olympischen Friedens durch die russische Regierung. Der olympische Frieden war am 2. Dezember 2021 als Resolution von der UNO-Generalversammlung durch 173 Mitgliedsländer beschlossen und gilt vom 4. Februar bis zum 20. März. Als Folge des Konflikts rät Swiss Olympic seinen Mitgliedsverbänden, aus Sicherheitsgründen auf die Teilnahme an Wettkämfpen in Russland und den Kriegsgebieten zu verzichten.

Der STSV folgt dieser Empfehlung. Schweizer Tanzsportlerinnen und Tanzsportler sollen sich bis zur Beilegung der Feindseligkeiten von Turnieren in den beiden Ländern fernhalten. Der Vorstand hat beschlossen, vorerst keine Selektionen für entsprechende Wettkämpfe vorzunehmen.

Unsere Gedanken sind bei der ukrainischen Bevölkerung, bei den Soldaten beider Konfliktparteien, welche ihr Leben und ihre Seele für diesen unsinnigen Krieg aufs Spiel setzen müssen, bei den Familien dieser Soldaten und insbesondere bei unseren ukrainischen und russischen Tanzsportfreunden in der Schweiz.

Der Vorstand

Related Post

Kleiderordnung 2022

Die Bekleidungsvorschriften kommen bei allen WDSF-Turnieren zur Anwendung und gelten auch für die Turnierordnungen der WDSF-Mitgliedsstaaten.

Weiterlesen »
de_DE

Folgen Sie uns auf den Soziale Netzwerken

Tanzen, feiern und Spass haben –
die erste STSV Dance Night vom Samstag,
den 17. September in Ittigen

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue