Further training for adjudicators with German expert

On the first weekend in March, the STSV adjudicators had the opportunity to refresh their know-how at the further training with the German WDSF adjudicator Petra Matschullat and at the same time to exchange professional knowledge with our colleagues. After the difficult pandemic period, it was a great opportunity for all participants to finally - and moreover without a mask - meet in person again (and for the first time in a long time without a mask). Participant Corinne Roost reports.

Saturday was dedicated to the Standard discipline and was vividly supported by the demonstration couple Davide Corrodi and Maja Kucharczyk. Petra led us through all five standard dances with her great expertise and a healthy pinch of humour and went into detail about the peculiarities and characteristics of each of the dances. The physical movement of us adjudicators with balance and isolation exercises was not neglected. In order to refresh the judging criteria and their prioritisation as well as to train our judges' eye, Davide and Maya were later joined on the floor by the two squad couples Vova Kasilov and Yulia Dreier and David Büchel and Flavia Landolfi. Their task was to provide their dance performance with "mistakes" such as wrong foot technique, leading or posture mistakes or the like. We as adjudicators were accordingly asked to compare the couples, discover the "flaws" and evaluate the couples according to the adjudication criteria - which was not always easy and also led to interesting discussions between Petra and us adjudicators. During the training, Petra also understood very well how to draw a bow to scoring on an international level, i.e. according to WDSF guidelines, and to show us what advantages and disadvantages each of the two systems can bring.

The structure of Sunday's training was the same as Saturday's but with a focus on Latin. Again, Petra led us through the day with Davide and Maja as a demo couple and went into the finer points of the individual Latin dances. The highlight of this day was certainly the "Lady-Challenge" between Maya, Tjara-Sophia Wibawa, Luana Valentino and Blanca Ribas Túron, who - similar to the previous day, but without a partner - had to provide their dance with "flaws" (e.g. exaggerated body movements or hard leg actions) in order to lure us judges out of our reserve and to stimulate an open discussion. On this day, Petra repeatedly gave examples of innovations within the WDSF step material and compared it with the technique of Walter Laird's technique book, which we know better.

Another important input of this training was to remember when scoring not to look for mistakes in the couples, but to focus on the positive in the couple. A judge should always ask himself what couple X does better than couple Y and not forget the order of the judging criteria.

Finally, I would like to thank Petra Matschullat for the exciting two days of training, Gunar Haas for the excellent organisation and Barbara Stahel for her hospitality in her dance school time2dance. Another round of applause goes to the cadre couples who were on the dance floor for us adjudicators.

Text: Corrine Roost

Related Post

Corrodi/Kucharczyk lead WDSF ranking

Davide Corrodi/Maja Kucharczyk provided another explosion at their last international start of the year; at the WDSF Open in Zagreb they already achieved the following in the ten dance within a few weeks

Read more "

Words of the President

Dear STSV family, dear friends of dance sport After we had thought at the end of last year that we had overcome the worst, we were startled with new bad news at the end of February: War

Read more "
en_GB
Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

Wertungsrichter-Weiterbildung mit deutscher Expertin

Am ersten März-Weekend hatten die STSV-Wertungsrichter die Möglichkeit, ihr Know-how an der Weiterbildung mit der deutschen WDSF-Prüfungsexpertin Petra Matschullat aufzufrischen und uns gleichzeitig mit unseren Kollegen fachlich auszutauschen. Nach der schwierigen Pandemie-Zeit war es für alle Beteiligten eine tolle Gelegenheit, sich endlich – und zudem noch ohne Maske – wieder einmal persönlich zu treffen (und das erste Mal seit langem auch wieder ohne Maske). Teilnehmerin Corinne Roost berichtet.

Der Samstag war der Disziplin Standard gewidmet und wurde durch das Demonstrationspaar Davide Corrodi und Maja Kucharczyk anschaulich unterstützt. Petra führte uns mit ihrem grossen Fachwissen und einer gesunden Prise Humor durch alle fünf Standard-Tänze und ging bei jedem der Tänze auf seine Eigenheiten und seine Charakteristik ein. Dabei kam auch die körperliche Bewegung von uns Wertungsrichtern mit Balance- und Isolationsübungen nicht zu kurz. Um die Wertungskriterien sowie deren Priorisierung wieder aufzufrischen sowie unser Wertungsrichterauge zu schulen, wurden später neben Davide und Maya auch die beiden Kaderpaare Vova Kasilov und Yulia Dreier sowie David Büchel und Flavia Landolfi auf die Fläche geholt. Ihre Aufgabe bestand darin, ihre tänzerische Darbietung mit «Fehlern» wie z.B. falscher Fusstechnik, Führungs- oder Haltungsfehlern o.ä. zu versehen. Wir als Wertungsrichter wurden entsprechend dazu aufgefordert, die Paare zu vergleichen, die «Makel» zu entdecken und die Paare gemäss Wertungskriterien zu bewerten – was nicht immer ganz einfach war und auch zu interessanten Diskussionen zwischen Petra und uns Wertungsrichtern führte. Während der Schulung hat Petra es auch sehr gut verstanden, einen Bogen zum Werten auf internationalem Parkett, d.h. nach WDSF-Richtlinien, zu spannen und uns aufzuzeigen, welche Vor- und Nachteile jedes der beiden Systeme mit sich bringen kann.

Der Aufbau der Schulung von Sonntag war ebenbürtig zu jener von Samstag jedoch mit Schwerpunkt Latein. Auch hier führte uns Petra erneut mit Davide und Maja als Demo-Paar durch den Tag und ging auf die Feinheiten der einzelnen Latein-Tänze ein. Das Highlight dieses Tages war sicherlich die «Lady-Challenge» zwischen Maya, Tjara-Sophia Wibawa, Luana Valentino und Blanca Ribas Túron, welche ihr Tanzen – ähnlich wie am Vortag, jedoch ohne Partner – mit «Makeln» (z.B. überrissene Körperbewegungen oder harte leg actions) versehen mussten, um uns Wertungsrichter aus der Reserve zu locken und zu einer offenen Diskussion anzuregen. Petra brachte an diesem Tag auch immer wieder Beispiele zu Neuerungen innerhalb des Schrittmateriales des WDSF und verglich dieses mit der Technik des uns besser bekannten Technikbuches von Walter Laird.

Ein weiterer wichtiger Input dieser Schulung bestand darin, sich beim Werten wieder in Erinnerung zu rufen, bei den Paaren nicht nach Fehlern zu suchen, sondern seinen Fokus auf das Positive im Paar zu richten. Ein Wertungsrichter soll sich immer zu fragen, was macht das Paar X besser als das Paar Y und dabei auch die Reihenfolge der Wertungskriterien nicht ausser Acht zu lassen.

Ich möchte mich zum Schluss nochmals ganz herzlich bei Petra Matschullat für die spannenden zwei Schulungstage, bei Gunar Haas für die hervorragende Organisation und bei Barbara Stahel für ihre Gastfreundschaft in ihrer Tanzschule time2dance bedanken. Ein weiterer Applaus geht an die Kaderpaare, welche für uns Wertungsrichter auf der Tanzfläche im Einsatz waren.

Text: Corrine Roost

Related Post

STSV-Strategieweekend in Liestal

Wie sollen die strategischen Schwerpunkte des STSV im 2023 angepasst und ergänzt werden? Wo braucht es welche Massnahmen? Wie können die vielen Arbeiten auf verschiedene Schultern verteilt werden, will sich der STSV-Vorstand

Weiterlesen »
de_DE

Folgen Sie uns auf den Soziale Netzwerken

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue