Further training for adjudicators with German expert

On the first weekend in March, the STSV adjudicators had the opportunity to refresh their know-how at the further training with the German WDSF adjudicator Petra Matschullat and at the same time to exchange professional knowledge with our colleagues. After the difficult pandemic period, it was a great opportunity for all participants to finally - and moreover without a mask - meet in person again (and for the first time in a long time without a mask). Participant Corinne Roost reports.

Saturday was dedicated to the Standard discipline and was vividly supported by the demonstration couple Davide Corrodi and Maja Kucharczyk. Petra led us through all five standard dances with her great expertise and a healthy pinch of humour and went into detail about the peculiarities and characteristics of each of the dances. The physical movement of us adjudicators with balance and isolation exercises was not neglected. In order to refresh the judging criteria and their prioritisation as well as to train our judges' eye, Davide and Maya were later joined on the floor by the two squad couples Vova Kasilov and Yulia Dreier and David Büchel and Flavia Landolfi. Their task was to provide their dance performance with "mistakes" such as wrong foot technique, leading or posture mistakes or the like. We as adjudicators were accordingly asked to compare the couples, discover the "flaws" and evaluate the couples according to the adjudication criteria - which was not always easy and also led to interesting discussions between Petra and us adjudicators. During the training, Petra also understood very well how to draw a bow to scoring on an international level, i.e. according to WDSF guidelines, and to show us what advantages and disadvantages each of the two systems can bring.

The structure of Sunday's training was the same as Saturday's but with a focus on Latin. Again, Petra led us through the day with Davide and Maja as a demo couple and went into the finer points of the individual Latin dances. The highlight of this day was certainly the "Lady-Challenge" between Maya, Tjara-Sophia Wibawa, Luana Valentino and Blanca Ribas Túron, who - similar to the previous day, but without a partner - had to provide their dance with "flaws" (e.g. exaggerated body movements or hard leg actions) in order to lure us judges out of our reserve and to stimulate an open discussion. On this day, Petra repeatedly gave examples of innovations within the WDSF step material and compared it with the technique of Walter Laird's technique book, which we know better.

Another important input of this training was to remember when scoring not to look for mistakes in the couples, but to focus on the positive in the couple. A judge should always ask himself what couple X does better than couple Y and not forget the order of the judging criteria.

Finally, I would like to thank Petra Matschullat for the exciting two days of training, Gunar Haas for the excellent organisation and Barbara Stahel for her hospitality in her dance school time2dance. Another round of applause goes to the cadre couples who were on the dance floor for us adjudicators.

Text: Corrine Roost

Related Post

Corrodi/Kucharczyk lead WDSF ranking

Davide Corrodi/Maja Kucharczyk provided another explosion at their last international start of the year; at the WDSF Open in Zagreb they already achieved the following in the ten dance within a few weeks

Read more "

Words of the President

Dear STSV family, dear friends of dance sport After we had thought at the end of last year that we had overcome the worst, we were startled with new bad news at the end of February: War

Read more "
en_GB
Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

Formation continue des juges avec une experte allemande

Le premier week-end de mars, les juges de la FSST ont eu l'occasion de rafraîchir leur savoir-faire lors d'une formation continue avec Petra Matschullat, experte allemande en matière d'examens WDSF, et d'échanger en même temps des informations techniques avec nos collègues. Après la période difficile de la pandémie, c'était une occasion formidable pour tous les participants de se rencontrer enfin - et de surcroît sans masque - en personne (et pour la première fois depuis longtemps, sans masque). La participante Corinne Roost raconte.

Le samedi était consacré à la discipline Standard et a été soutenu de manière claire par le couple de démonstrateurs Davide Corrodi et Maja Kucharczyk. Petra nous a guidés à travers les cinq danses standard avec ses grandes connaissances et une bonne dose d'humour, en abordant pour chacune des danses ses particularités et ses caractéristiques. L'exercice physique des juges que nous sommes n'a pas été négligé, avec des exercices d'équilibre et d'isolation. Afin de rafraîchir les critères d'évaluation ainsi que leur hiérarchisation et d'entraîner notre œil de juge, les deux couples de cadres Vova Kasilov et Yulia Dreier ainsi que David Büchel et Flavia Landolfi ont été appelés plus tard sur la piste, en plus de Davide et Maya. Leur tâche consistait à doter leur prestation de danse de "fautes" telles qu'une mauvaise technique de pied, des erreurs de guidage ou de posture, etc. En tant que juges, nous étions par conséquent invités à comparer les couples, à découvrir les "défauts" et à évaluer les couples selon les critères de notation - ce qui n'était pas toujours très facile et a également donné lieu à des discussions intéressantes entre Petra et nous, les juges. Pendant la formation, Petra a également très bien su faire le lien avec le jugement sur la scène internationale, c'est-à-dire selon les directives de la WDSF, et nous a montré les avantages et les inconvénients que chacun des deux systèmes peut apporter.

La structure de la formation du dimanche était identique à celle du samedi, mais avec un accent sur le latin. Là encore, Petra nous a guidés tout au long de la journée avec Davide et Maja en tant que couple de démonstration et a abordé les subtilités des différentes danses latines. Le point fort de cette journée a certainement été le "Lady-Challenge" entre Maya, Tjara-Sophia Wibawa, Luana Valentino et Blanca Ribas Túron, qui ont dû doter leur danse - comme la veille, mais sans partenaire - de "défauts" (p. ex. des mouvements de corps exagérés ou des leg actions dures), afin de nous faire sortir de notre réserve, nous les juges, et de susciter une discussion ouverte. Petra a également présenté à plusieurs reprises des exemples de nouveautés dans le matériel de pas de la WDSF et les a comparés à la technique du livre technique de Walter Laird que nous connaissons mieux.

Un autre élément important de cette formation a été de se rappeler, lors du jugement, de ne pas chercher les erreurs chez les couples, mais de se concentrer sur les points positifs du couple. Un juge doit toujours se demander ce que le couple X fait de mieux que le couple Y et ne pas oublier l'ordre des critères de jugement.

Pour finir, je tiens à remercier encore une fois Petra Matschullat pour ces deux journées de formation passionnantes, Gunar Haas pour l'excellente organisation et Barbara Stahel pour son hospitalité dans son école de danse time2dance. Nous tenons également à applaudir les couples de cadres qui se sont engagés sur la piste de danse pour nous, les juges.

texte : Corrine Roost

Postes liés

Les mots du président

Chère famille de l'ASPTT, chers amis de la danse sportive Alors que nous pensions avoir surmonté le pire à la fin de l'année dernière, une nouvelle mauvaise nouvelle est venue nous secouer à la fin du mois de février : la guerre a éclaté.

Lire la suite "
fr_FR
S'abonner à notre newsletter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour, les promotions et les avant-premières des produits à venir. Plus 20% de réduction sur votre prochaine commande.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue