Standard

Harmonious flow of movement

From the waltz to the well-known standard dances

The oldest of the standard dances is the waltz, whose origins can be traced back to the 12th century. Together with the polka and the gallop, it dominated the dance scene of the 19th century. A revolution in ballroom dancing began at the beginning of the 20th century. The first dance forms from America came to Europe, including the tango in 1907, the onestep in 1910 and ragtime in 1912.

During the First World War, dancing was forbidden in France and Germany. It was different in England: bands from America played there to the new dances. The essential feature of these dances was the departure from the classical ballet basis and a turn towards natural forms of movement as well as the adaptation to the rhythm, which was mainly dictated by jazz music.

The round dance movement characteristic of the old dances was replaced by walking movements, which were initially still started with the ball of the foot. The turns were no longer the main part of the dances, but only a part. The dance posture was by no means as fixed as it is today, people danced either without body contact or - as in the "old" dances - in close cloth contact, which was often offensive at the time.

English Waltz

The English Waltz was developed in 1921 from the old Waltz and the straight-ahead Boston as a wide-ranging revolving dance. In the beginning it was more a dance with a forward striving character, a "dance of passing feet" in the style of the Boston or the Slowfox. Later, due to the increased degree of turning at the end of the bar, the feet were closed. As the full turns proved to be problematic, the dance was given a diagonal structure by dancing only 3/4 of a turn in each of the right and left turns.

Tango

The tango, the name originally meaning dance or dance festival, first found its way into the simple form of the milonga tango. In several conferences in the early twenties, the basic elements and figures of the English style were sketched out. To this day, there is no really documented and concrete history of the tango. Numerous sources partly contradict each other, but it is considered certain that the musical character was strongly influenced by Sicilian cantatores. The Habanera and the Milonga, as well as flamenco influences, are primarily considered to be the "ancestors".

At the "Great Conference" in 1929, a general resolution established Slowfox, Quickstep, English Waltz, Tango and Blues as standard dances. Simple figures and the tempos for the individual dances were determined in this resolution. After 1930, many new figures were added, but essentially the standard dances are not danced much differently than they were then. This style is still valid today for everyone and not only for ballroom dancers.

Viennese waltz

A decisive event was the inclusion of the Viennese Waltz in the group of standard dances in 1951, choreographed by the German dance teacher Paul Krebs. Although a very late addition, it is our oldest dance. It can be traced back to the 12th century and has developed into its present form through a variety of influences. The most important ancestors were the Langaus (as much way as possible with as few turns as possible) and the Dreher (turn in place as much as possible). It was banned several times under the pretext of immorality and health hazards.

Slowfox

The Foxtrot, which had developed from Jig and Ragtime, among others, with its alternating fast and slow steps, displaced all other dances and became the forerunner of the so-called "English style". The slow form, the Slowfox(Slow Foxtrot), developed after 1900 from ragtime and American marching music.

Quickstep

A mixture around 1924 with the fashionable dances of the time such as Charleston, Onestep and Ragtime led to the somewhat unwieldy name of a new dance, the "Quicktime Foxtrot and Charleston", from which the more monolingual term Quickstep was formed.

Source: Text written by Gunar Haas

en_GB

Follow us on social networks

Dance, party and have fun -
the first STSV Dance Night on Saturday,
17 September in Ittigen

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

Standard

Flux de mouvements harmonieux

De la valse aux danses de salon connues

La valse, dont les origines remontent au 12e siècle, peut être considérée comme la plus ancienne des danses de salon. Avec la polka et le galop, elle dominait la scène de la danse au 19e siècle. Dans la danse de salon, une révolution se préparait au début du 20e siècle. Les premières formes de danse venues d'Amérique arrivèrent en Europe, notamment le tango en 1907, l'onestep en 1910 et le ragtime en 1912.

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, la danse était interdite en France et en Allemagne. La situation était différente en Angleterre : des groupes venus d'Amérique y jouaient au rythme des nouvelles danses. La caractéristique essentielle de ces danses était l'abandon de la base du ballet classique pour se tourner vers des formes de mouvement naturelles et s'adapter au rythme imposé notamment par la musique de jazz.

Le mouvement de danse circulaire caractéristique des anciennes danses a été remplacé par des mouvements de marche, qui étaient d'abord encore amorcés par la plante des pieds. Les rotations ne constituaient plus l'élément principal des danses, mais seulement une partie. La posture de danse n'était pas encore aussi définie qu'aujourd'hui, on dansait soit sans contact physique, soit - comme dans les "anciennes" danses - en contact étroit, souvent choquant à l'époque.

Valse anglaise

L'English Waltz a été développée en 1921 à partir de l'ancienne valse et du boston qui se dirigeait tout droit, en tant que danse tournante de grande envergure. Au début, il s'agissait plutôt d'une danse avec un caractère qui va de l'avant, une "dance of passing feet" dans le style du Boston ou du Slowfox. Plus tard, l'augmentation du degré de rotation à la fin de la mesure a entraîné la fermeture des pieds. Comme les rotations complètes s'avéraient problématiques, la danse reçut une structure diagonale en ne dansant qu'un 3/4 de tour à chaque fois qu'on tournait à droite ou à gauche.

Tango

Le tango, dont le nom signifie à l'origine danse ou fête de la danse, a d'abord été introduit sous la forme simple de la milonga-tango. Plusieurs conférences organisées au début des années vingt ont permis de tracer les éléments et les figures de base du style anglais. Il n'existe pas à ce jour d'histoire réellement attestée et concrète du tango. De nombreuses sources se contredisent partiellement, mais il est considéré comme certain que le caractère musical a été fortement influencé par des cantatores siciliens. Les "ancêtres" sont en premier lieu la habanera et la milonga, ainsi que les influences du flamenco.

Lors de la "Great Conference" en 1929, une résolution générale a établi le slowfox, le quickstep, la valse anglaise, le tango et le blues comme danses standard. Des figures simples et les tempos pour les différentes danses ont été déterminés dans cette résolution. Après 1930, de nombreuses nouvelles figures ont été ajoutées, mais pour l'essentiel, les danses standard ne sont pas très différentes de celles pratiquées à l'époque. Ce style est toujours valable aujourd'hui pour tout le monde et pas seulement pour les danseurs de compétition.

Valse viennoise

En 1951, l'intégration de la valse viennoise dans le groupe des danses de salon, chorégraphiée par le professeur de danse allemand Paul Krebs, a été un événement marquant. Bien qu'elle n'ait été ajoutée que très tardivement, il s'agit de notre plus ancienne danse. Elle remonte au 12e siècle et s'est formée sous de multiples influences jusqu'à sa forme actuelle. Ses principaux ancêtres étaient le langaus (faire le plus de chemin possible avec le moins de tours possible) et le dreher (tourner le plus possible sur place). Il a été interdit à plusieurs reprises sous prétexte d'immoralité et de danger pour la santé.

Slowfox

Le fox-trot, qui s'était développé entre autres à partir de la gigue et du ragtime, avec ses pas alternés rapides et lents, a supplanté toutes les autres danses et est devenu le précurseur de ce que l'on appelle le "style anglais". La forme lente, le Slowfox(Slow Foxtrot), est née après 1900 du ragtime et de la musique de marche américaine.

Quickstep

Un mélange vers 1924 avec les danses à la mode de l'époque comme le charleston, l'onestep et le ragtime a conduit à l'appellation quelque peu encombrante d'une nouvelle danse, le "Quicktime Foxtrot and Charleston", qui a donné naissance au terme plus simple de quickstep.

Source : texte rédigé par Gunar Haas

fr_FR

Suivez-nous sur les réseaux sociaux

Danser, faire la fête et s'amuser -
la première STSV Dance Night de samedi,
le 17 septembre à Ittigen

S'abonner à notre newsletter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour, les promotions et les avant-premières des produits à venir. Plus 20% de réduction sur votre prochaine commande.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue