WDSF cancels events in Russia and Belarus

The World Dance Sport Federation (WDSF) in its Communique of 27 February 2022 gives its full support to the recent communiqué of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) on the breach of the Olympic Truce.

WDSF cancels events in Russia and Belarus

In line with the recommendations of the International Olympic Committee, the World Dance Sport Federation has removed all dance events in Russia and Belarus from its agenda with immediate effect. In addition, the flags of these two countries will no longer be displayed and the national anthems will no longer be played. In his statement, WDSF President Shawn Tay expresses deep concern and sadness about the Russian invasion of Ukraine and wants to stand in solidarity with the people affected by this tragic conflict.

WDSF Statement of 27 February 2022

The World Dance Sport Federation (WDSF) announces in its Communique of 27 February 2022 its full support for the recent communiqué of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) on the breach of the Olympic Truce and the measures requested.

The IOC statement, published on 25 February, reads as follows:

“The Executive Board (EB) of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) reiterated today the IOC’s strong condemnation of the breach of the Olympic Truce by the Russian government and the government of Belarus through its support in this. The respective UN resolution was adopted by the UN General Assembly on 2 December 2021 by consensus of all 193 UN Member States. The Olympic Truce began seven days before the start of the Olympic Games, on 4 February 2022, and ends seven days after the closing of the Paralympic Games.

The IOC EB today urges all International Sports Federations to relocate or cancel their sports events currently planned in Russia or Belarus. They should take the breach of the Olympic Truce by the Russian and Belarussian governments into account and give the safety and security of the athletes absolute priority. The IOC itself has no events planned in Russia or Belarus.

In addition, the IOC EB urges that no Russian or Belarussian national flag be displayed and no Russian or Belarussian anthem be played in international sports events which are not already part of the respective World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) sanctions for Russia.

At the same time, the IOC EB expresses its full support to the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) for the upcoming Paralympic Winter Games Beijing 2022.

The IOC EB expresses its deep concerns about the safety of the members of the Olympic Community in Ukraine and stands in full solidarity. It notes that the special IOC task force is in contact with the Olympic Community in the country to coordinate humanitarian assistance where possible.

The IOC EB asks the task force to continue to closely monitor the situation and to keep the IOC EB informed and updated, also with regard to potential amendments of today’s resolution.”

On behalf of the WDSF, President Shawn Tay expressed his deep concern and sadness at the invasion of Ukraine. “To all Ukrainians and those with ties to Ukraine, our thoughts are with you. The WDSF stands in solidarity with all Ukrainians in this tragic conflict…The WDSF is committed to supporting the dance community in Ukraine in coping with these devastating times.”

In the meantime, no WDSF DanceSport Competitions will be taking place in Russia and Belarus until further notice.

Related Post

Corrodi/Kucharczyk lead WDSF ranking

Davide Corrodi/Maja Kucharczyk provided another explosion at their last international start of the year; at the WDSF Open in Zagreb they already achieved the following in the ten dance within a few weeks

Read more "

Words of the President

Dear STSV family, dear friends of dance sport After we had thought at the end of last year that we had overcome the worst, we were startled with new bad news at the end of February: War

Read more "
en_GB
Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming products. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

La WDSF annule des événements en Russie et en Biélorussie

Dans son communiqué du 27 février 2022, la Fédération mondiale de danse sportive (WDSF) apporte son plein soutien au récent communiqué du Comité international olympique (CIO) sur la rupture de la trêve olympique.

La WDSF annule des événements en Russie et en Biélorussie

Conformément aux recommandations du Comité international olympique, la Fédération internationale de danse sportive a retiré immédiatement de son agenda tous les événements de danse sportive en Russie et en Biélorussie. De plus, les drapeaux de ces deux pays ne seront plus montrés et les hymnes nationaux ne seront plus joués. Dans sa déclaration, le président de la WDSF Shawn Tay exprime sa profonde inquiétude et sa tristesse face à l'invasion russe en Ukraine et souhaite apporter sa solidarité aux personnes concernées par ce conflit tragique.

Déclaration de la WDSF du 27 février 2022

Dans son communiqué du 27 février 2022, la Fédération mondiale de danse sportive (WDSF) annonce son soutien total au récent communiqué du Comité international olympique (CIO) sur la rupture de la trêve olympique et les mesures demandées.

La déclaration du CIO, publiée le 25 février, est la suivante :

"Le Conseil exécutif (CE) du Comité international olympique (CIO) a réaffirmé aujourd'hui que le CIO condamne fermement la rupture de la trêve olympique par le gouvernement russe et le gouvernement du Belarus. La résolution correspondante des Nations Unies a été adoptée par l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies le 2 décembre 2021 par consensus des 193 Etats membres des Nations Unies. La trêve olympique a commencé sept jours avant le début des Jeux olympiques, le 4 février 2022, et se terminera sept jours après la fin des Jeux paralympiques.

Le BE du CIO demande aujourd'hui à toutes les fédérations sportives internationales de reporter ou d'annuler leurs événements sportifs actuellement prévus en Russie ou au Belarus. Elles devraient tenir compte de la rupture de la trêve olympique par les gouvernements russe et biélorusse et accorder la priorité absolue à la sécurité des athlètes. Le CIO lui-même n'a prévu aucune manifestation en Russie ou en Biélorussie.

En outre, le CIO EB exige qu'aucun drapeau national russe ou biélorusse ne soit déployé et qu'aucun hymne russe ou biélorusse ne soit joué lors de manifestations sportives internationales qui ne font pas déjà partie des sanctions respectives de l'Agence mondiale antidopage (AMA) contre la Russie.

Parallèlement, le BE du CIO exprime son plein soutien au Comité international paralympique (CIP) pour les prochains Jeux paralympiques d'hiver de Pékin 2022.

Le BE du CIO exprime sa profonde inquiétude quant à la sécurité des membres de la communauté olympique en Ukraine et fait part de sa totale solidarité. Il note que la task force spéciale du CIO est en contact avec la communauté olympique du pays afin de coordonner l'aide humanitaire dans la mesure du possible.

Le CIO EB demande à la Task Force de continuer à suivre la situation de près et de tenir le CIO EB informé, notamment en ce qui concerne d'éventuelles modifications de la résolution d'aujourd'hui".

Au nom de la WDSF, le président Shawn Tay exprime sa profonde inquiétude et sa tristesse face à l'invasion de l'Ukraine. "Nos pensées vont à tous les Ukrainiens et à tous ceux qui sont liés à l'Ukraine. Le WDSF est solidaire de tous les Ukrainiens dans ce conflit tragique... Le WDSF est déterminé à aider la communauté de la danse en Ukraine à surmonter cette période dévastatrice".

Jusqu'à nouvel ordre, aucune compétition de danse sportive WDSF n'aura lieu en Russie et en Biélorussie.

Postes liés

Les mots du président

Chère famille de l'ASPTT, chers amis de la danse sportive Alors que nous pensions avoir surmonté le pire à la fin de l'année dernière, une nouvelle mauvaise nouvelle est venue nous secouer à la fin du mois de février : la guerre a éclaté.

Lire la suite "
fr_FR
S'abonner à notre newsletter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour, les promotions et les avant-premières des produits à venir. Plus 20% de réduction sur votre prochaine commande.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue